Friday Photo Fling

We are moving our entire home today through the rest of the weekend. Due to this, I have made two executive decisions.

1. I gave my husband his Father’s day presents early.

2. I am posting about his presents as inspiration and as an alternative to creating a freebie for this week. I just don’t have the time. Sorry!

 

I know the pictures aren’t great. Again, I apologize for my lameness this week. Hopefully my project atleast inspires someone to create something sweet and personal for their hubby/father this year.

I started here:

8 Months

My daughter’s latest photo adventure.

I had it printed as a 5×7.

I purchased a shadow box that would fit in our new house. It cost me about $30 at Michaels but there are much cheaper ones available.

I bought white clay for about $1.50.

Next I waited until Baby had fallen asleep. I folded the clay in my hands for about 10 minutes, warming it and molding it. I very carefully pressed her little 8 month old hand into the clay and baked. The trick to this when you have a little one is to wait until they are asleep. Otherwise the clay proves to be way too much of a temptation to get a good hand print.

I baked it according to the package directions and tried my best to keep the clay in a circular mold without actually having a mold.

DSC_0307

Next, I found really cool Frame Numbers at the hobby store. You could probably make these out of all sorts of things or just buy the scrapbook version for super cheep. I paid $.99 for each number. It turned out to be a great buy since the numbers had their own sticky back and were really easy to place.

I pinned my 5×7 photo into the center of my shadow box matting with the cute thin sewing pins that came with the box. I then taped the dried hand mold into the corner of the matting so that when the box was tilted upright, it would rest on the inside of the box frame.

Next I placed the metal letters lining the photo.

Done.

DSC_0305

Easy.

Daddy project accomplished. The hardest part of this project was the secret photo shoot I did with my daughter which included her favorite sparkly tutu and some fake string of pearls. She wanted really hard to choke herself and I had to watch her like a hawk.

But the project was worth it.

Hope this inspires some sort of Daddy-day project for you!

Preview of “Blog Signature”

 

One thought on “Friday Photo Fling

  1. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning
    to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

