Toddler Approved Recipe – White Bean, Turkey Meatball Soup

Every Sunday evening I spend hours cooking multiple meals for the week. Since I went back to work, cooking a weeks worth of meals means finding toddler-friendly, healthy meals that will also appeal to me, the Nanny and Grandpa (part-time Manny).

If you follow my Instagram, I tend to post pictures of some of the finer creations. The shitty ones I just leave off. You wouldn’t want those, trust me.

Last week was one of my favorites, brown rice, cooked in chicken stock, with fresh rosemary, mushrooms and chicken sausage. An easy, tasty one-pot meal. The kid loves it. Mommy is obsessed with rosemary. Everyone wins.

photo 1

This week was beautiful out. Chilly in the evenings, warm in the afternoons with autumn colors bursting from the world’s seams. Perfect soup weather.

photo 4

I started with this recipe from Williams Sonoma for White Bean and Escarole Soup with Turkey Meatballs.

img43l

I tweaked the recipe to the ingredients below:

  • 2 cans (each 14 1/2 oz.) white beans, drained/cleaned
  • 1 bunch of fresh baby spinach
  • olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 4 whole carrots, chopped into toddler-friendly pieces
  • 4 celery stalks, chopped to the same size as the carrots
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. fresh rosemary
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • lb of turkey meatballs (find these fresh in the poultry section of your local grocery store)

Being a mom, I didn’t have time to make homemade turkey meatballs (even though I’ve done it in the past and it’s super easy, it is still time consuming). Instead, I bought turkey meatballs from the poultry section of my favorite grocery and got on my way.

photo 1

Check out my recipe below for White Bean, Turkey Meatball Soup:

I started by prepping everything. This is not Top Chef. You are not limited to 20 minutes to get everything done. Prepare all of your ingredients first and stop stressing when you cook.

Coat the bottom of a saute pan with olive oil and cook your meatballs. Brown those suckers over medium-high heat without burning them. Cap that pan and take it off the burner to keep your balls warm. (Always keep your balls warm. Life lessons right here, ya’ll.)

Pick a large soup pot. Over medium-high heat, toss enough olive oil into your pot to coat the bottom. Don’t worry about how much, it’s olive oil. Everyone loves it.

Next it’s the onions. Toss them in and let them soften for about 5 minutes.

Next in the pot are the rosemary, garlic, carrots and celery. Stir frequently for another two minutes or so.

Add the wine and cook until it has almost evaporated.

Pour in the broth and beans bringing your concoction to a simmer.

Tear the spinach into small pieces and toss into your pot.

Cook for 5 to 7 more minutes.

Stirring. Stirring. Stirring.

Add the turkey meatballs.

Cook for another 5 to 10 minutes depending on how warm your balls still are…

SERVE! Or in my case, ladle into containers and cool.

Baby loves the beans, soft carrots and yummy turkey balls. Mommy loves that she’s getting veggies without throwing them on the floor.

photo 2

Let me know what you think! And follow me on Instagram!

Preview of “Blog Signature”

Leave a Reply

