Queen of the Nerds

Even when it was uncool, I was a nerd. Even when I was a jock, had friends, had boyfriends and a social life, I was a nerd.

A Batman loving, science fiction reading, History channel watching weirdo who’s sense of humor wasn’t always well received.

It took awhile for me to hit my stride. As a teenager I was stereotypically self-conscious and often replayed uncool moments in my head for years. To this day I remember the awful speech I made in my middle school French class about RollerJam (Yup. Loved that shit.) or the stupid WWE clip I played in a presentation on law enforcement as an adult. These moments, while admittedly sometimes embarrassing have made me realize that embracing my nerd is much better than shoving it deep down inside and watching in horror as it spills out in an epic show of geekery.

As an adult, I embrace and appreciate my dork side. As a mother, I realize how lame it was to ever hide any part of myself.

An hour long discussion with coworkers about which of all the great action stars would win in a real-life battle royale (Chuck Norris)  is something I now look forward to. Debating and googling why the martyred colonists of the second Aliens movie were actually on that God forsaken planet in the first place (Terraforming) has become the norm.

I suppose then, the fact that I dress my daughter in super hero tshirts, leggings, bows and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle socks should not surprise anyone who knows me. Neither should the fact that my toddler regularly receives praise from strangers as polite and “something special.” She is openly regarded as one of the smartest, pig-headed and ornery children ever to be born of my family (which says a lot).

And I have no doubt that she is destined for great things.

She is without a doubt, my tiny Super hero.

photo

When her nerdy starts to shine through, and she begins to question her ability to fit in or stand out, I hope that my own dorky traits will call to hers. I hope the lessons I have learned as a nerd, dork, loser, student, teacher, jock, outcast, social butterfly, partier, planner, good guy, bad buy, friend, sister, daughter and mother will somehow rub off on her. Because I have learned a lot in my short lifetime and some of my favorite lessons were hard won as an outcast.

My favorite lesson? Nobody else is looking at your big ass in that dress because they are too busy worrying about theirs. Go do something great. Something worth your life. Venture on and rock that dress.

Preview of “Email Banner”

Leave a Reply

